Plain-language guide · Every requirement sourced to its own agency

Registering a business in the NWT: five registrations, and the order they go in.

Five different offices, five different rules — and the order matters, because at least one of them will not process your application until another one is already done. Here is the map, with every requirement sourced to the agency that enforces it and linked so you can check us.

What this page is. A map of five registrations a Northwest Territories business may have to deal with, in the order that avoids getting stuck. Every rule, fee and deadline below is quoted or closely paraphrased from a government page, form or brochure that we opened and read on 6 September 2026, apart from one page read later and dated below. Every one of those sources is listed in full at the bottom, with its address, so you can check us in an afternoon.

What this page is not. We are a systems and operations firm, not lawyers and not accountants, and nothing here is legal, tax or accounting advice. We have not added a requirement of our own: every rule, fee and deadline below comes from a government source, and anything inside quotation marks is in that source's exact words. Where we spell out a practical consequence, that part is ours, not the department's. Where we could not reach a source, we cut the sentence rather than guess, and we say so in the section on what we could not verify.

Rules and fees change. Everything below carries the date we read it. Treat this page as a starting map that tells you which office to phone — never as the authority. The authority is the department, and each one is linked.

At a glance

Five registrations. Not all five apply to you.

Which ones you need depends on your structure and whether you pay anyone.

01

Corporate Registries

Your business name, partnership, or NWT incorporation. GNWT Department of Justice.

02

Canada Revenue Agency

A business number, and GST/HST once you pass the small-supplier threshold.

03

WSCC

Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission. The one with a hard ten-day clock.

04

NWT payroll tax

GNWT Department of Finance — only if you actually pay someone remuneration.

05

Business licence

Your community government — or MACA, for a specific list of communities.

Why the order matters — one dependency, printed on the government's own page

It would be reasonable to assume these five are a set you can work through in any order. At least one pair of them is not, and the reason is printed on the government's own page rather than being something we worked out.

Municipal and Community Affairs, describing what a business licence application requires, states that applicants must "fill out an application, pay a fee and provide proof of Worker's Safety and Compensation Commission coverage." So the WSCC registration is not a parallel task to the business licence — for a MACA-issued licence it is an input to it. If you start with the licence, you will be sent away to do WSCC first.

The WSCC's own registration brochure points at the same relationship from the other side: it lists "need a Certificate of Compliance for a city or hamlet business license" among the reasons to register. One caution on that quote, because we would rather flag it than let you trip on it: the same brochure elsewhere marks the Certificate of Compliance as Nunavut only. The brochure covers both territories, and we are not going to tell you which document your particular NWT community will ask for. Ask the office that issues your licence what proof of WSCC coverage they want, and get it before you apply.

There is a second, softer dependency worth knowing. The WSCC brochure says that "If your company is incorporated, you must provide a copy of your incorporation certificate with your application." If you are incorporating, Corporate Registries comes before WSCC. If you are a sole proprietor, it does not.

So the practical order is: structure first (1), then the number (2), then WSCC (3), then payroll tax if you hire (4), then the licence (5). Two and three can overlap. Five is last for a reason.

1. Corporate Registries — your name and your structure

Who runs it: Corporate Registries, Government of the Northwest Territories, Department of Justice, in Yellowknife.

The exemption is narrow. The GNWT's own instruction sheet for registering a sole proprietorship business name states it plainly: "You are only exempt from registration if you conduct business using your own, exact legal name (e.g. if your name is 'John Smith' and you conduct business as 'John Smith Consulting', you must still register, as 'Consulting' is not part of your personal legal name)." Adding one descriptive word to your own name creates a business name, and a business name has to be registered. We have no figures on how often that is missed, and we are not going to invent any.

The same sheet states why it exists, in one sentence worth reading twice: "Registering defines your business as a legal entity; determining who can make decisions and who is liable for damages caused by the business."

Fees, as printed on the instruction sheet, read 6 September 2026. The Application to Register Business Name (Sole Proprietorship) "must be submitted in duplicate, together with the fee of $50.00." If you have not already done one, "a Northwest Territories Application for Name Search and Reservation Form must be included, together with its prescribed fee of $25.00."

It does not last forever. "Once your Business Name (Sole Proprietorship) is registered, it must be renewed every 4 years in order to remain active." Four years is long enough to forget completely. Put it in a calendar the day you file.

Paper only — plan for this. The instruction sheet is explicit: "The original signed forms must be mailed or delivered by hand or mail to the Corporate Registries office; faxes, email, or other electronic delivery will not be accepted." It also says the signature "must not be a copy, a stamp, or an electronic signature." If you are in a community without daily mail, that is a real scheduling constraint, not a formality.

If you incorporate instead. Corporate Registries handles NWT incorporations under the Business Corporations Act, alongside extra-territorial registrations, co-operative associations and societies. On the ongoing obligation, the Registries page states: "Annual returns (Form 17) for all corporations are due by the end of the month following the anniversary date of incorporation/amalgamation." Note the shape of that deadline — it is keyed to your incorporation date, not to a date shared by everyone, so nobody else's reminder will match yours.

On the choice itself, the GNWT's business-registrations page describes the trade-off without recommending either: incorporation "limits potential losses to the amount invested in the corporation and can confer tax advantages at higher revenue levels, but imposes additional regulatory requirements and makes the business more expensive to operate." That is the department's framing, not ours, and choosing between them is a conversation for an accountant.

2. Canada Revenue Agency — the business number and GST/HST

Who runs it: the Canada Revenue Agency. Federal, not territorial — the NWT does not have its own sales tax, so GST is the whole of it.

The threshold. For an ordinary business, the CRA's registration guidance turns on a $30,000 figure measured across four consecutive calendar quarters. Below it you may qualify as a small supplier; above it you do not. The same CRA page sets out separate small-supplier calculations for charities and public institutions, and for public service bodies that are neither, and we have not reproduced those here. Two timing rules follow from how you cross it, and they are different from each other:

If you exceed $30,000 in a single calendar quarter, the CRA states your "effective date of registration is no later than the day of the supply that made you exceed $30,000." Not the end of the month, not the end of the quarter — the day of that sale. If you exceed it across four consecutive quarters rather than in one, your "effective date of registration is no later than the day of the first supply you make after you are no longer a small supplier."

The practical consequence for a contractor is worth stating plainly: one large job can move your registration date backwards into a week you have already invoiced. That is a bookkeeping problem you want to see coming, and it is the reason the threshold is worth watching before you are near it rather than after.

We are deliberately not walking you through how to register, which forms apply to your structure, or what you can claim. That is accountant territory and the rules have more exceptions than a web page can honestly carry. What we will say is that the threshold above is the trigger to have in your head.

3. WSCC — the ten-day clock, and the home-coverage clause

Who runs it: the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission, which covers both the NWT and Nunavut, with its head office in Yellowknife and a regional office in Inuvik.

The requirement, in the WSCC's own words: "All employers doing business in the Northwest Territories (NWT) and Nunavut, even temporarily, MUST register with the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission (WSCC). You must register within 10 days of starting operations in the NWT or Nunavut even if your local workers' compensation body advises you they will extend coverage." The capital letters are the WSCC's. So is the clause about your home-jurisdiction coverage: on the brochure's wording, being told by your own board that its coverage extends north does not remove the duty to register here.

The WSCC's registration page adds the consequence in one sentence: "Employers who fail to register must pay a penalty to the WSCC." It does not state an amount, and we are not going to invent one. One caution, because the WSCC's own material is not uniform: the brochure quoted above dates from 2015, and the sentence on the WSCC's current Register a Business page is narrower — employers must register "unless they meet the Temporary Employer criteria as set out in WSCC Policy 00.05.01". We have not read that policy and will not tell you whether a short job falls inside it. If you are coming north for one contract, ask the WSCC before you start, and do not treat either sentence as settling it.

WSCC registration brochure · read 6 Sep 2026

You need to register if you —

The brochure's own list, reproduced. Note that two of the four have nothing to do with having employees.

01

Have employees

"have employees working in the NWT or Nunavut".

02

Hire contractors

"hire contractors or sub-contractors to work in the NWT or Nunavut" — whether or not you have a single employee of your own.

03

Need proof for a licence

"need a Certificate of Compliance for a city or hamlet business license". The brochure covers both territories; see the caution above.

04

Are bidding, or self-employed

"are a start-up, bidding, or self-employed account and require clearances or personal optional coverage (POC)".

Two WSCC facts to know before you hire or subcontract

First: registering does not cover you. The brochure is blunt about it. "As an executive officer, registered director, partner, or business owner, you are not automatically covered for work related injuries, or protected from lawsuits by injured workers." And: "Start-up, bidding, and self-employed accounts without POC registering to receive a WSCC account number do not have any coverage under the Acts." The route to cover yourself is Personal Optional Coverage — the brochure notes POC for the self-employed "expires December 31 each year", so it is an annual job, not a one-time one. An owner-operator who registered the company and assumed that covered him personally has, on the WSCC's own description, an account number and no coverage.

Second: you inherit your subcontractor's unpaid assessments. This is the one to read twice if you hire anybody. The WSCC states: "You are liable for any assessments your contractor owes relating to the work they perform on your behalf until you receive a Letter of Good Standing and/or a Letter to Release Final Clearance." On what happens when a contractor you hired is not registered at all, the WSCC's answer is that you report the labour portion of their contract under your own company and assume their claims.

So the two clearance letters are not paperwork. A Letter of Good Standing before the work starts tells you the sub is registered and current; a final clearance before you release final payment closes your exposure. Both are requested through the WSCC's online service. The order is the whole point: after you have paid is too late to find out.

Two smaller things from the same sources. The WSCC says it processes a registration "within three business days of receiving all necessary information" — so the ten-day clock is not tight if you start on time. And on money owed: "Late payments receive legislated penalties of 2% per month."

4. NWT payroll tax — deducted from the employee, not charged to the employer

Who runs it: the GNWT Department of Finance. This one only applies once you actually pay someone.

It is not the tax you are thinking of. The Department of Finance is explicit that, unlike other jurisdictions that impose a payroll tax on employers, the NWT Payroll Tax is levied on employees. The Finance page for employees puts the figure on it: "NWT payroll tax is a 2 per cent tax on income that you earn as an employee working in the NWT." The employer's job is to withhold it and remit it — not to pay it on top of wages.

Who it catches. "All employees who work in the NWT, regardless of where they live, are subject to the NWT payroll tax on their employment income earned in the NWT." A crew flown in from Alberta for a job in the NWT is inside this, and their residence does not change it.

The deadline. Finance states: "If you have a 'fixed place of business' in the NWT and pay 'remuneration' to an employee, you are required to register with Treasury Division of the GNWT Department of Finance for payroll tax." It adds: "You are required to register within 21 days after you first pay remuneration to an employee." Twenty-one days from the first pay run, not from the first day of work.

Then it repeats. Remittance returns are due on "the 20th day of the month following the end of your reporting period, or the next business day if the 20th is a Saturday, Sunday or statutory holiday", with your reporting period setting the rhythm.

We flag this one for two features, both set out above from the department's own pages: it is deducted from the employee rather than charged to the employer, and its registration runs on a clock of its own. We have no data on how often it is missed, and we are not estimating one.

5. The business licence — this one is not territorial

Here is the structural fact that makes this registration different from the other four: there is no one business licence that covers the whole territory. For communities outside MACA's list, the licence is issued by the community government under its own by-law, with its own fees and its own calendar. Municipal and Community Affairs states it directly: "All other NWT communities issue their own business licences, and interested businesses must obtain a business licence from the community government."

Where MACA issues it instead. Under the Business Licence Act, MACA issues business licences to "Businesses operating outside community boundaries" and for a named list of communities that do not issue their own.

And here we have to report a discrepancy in the government's own material, because pretending it is not there would be worse. The community list on MACA's business-licensing service page and the list in the GNWT's own news release about renewals are not the same length. Read on 6 September 2026, the service page names twelve — Colville Lake, Dettah, Fort Good Hope, Fort Providence, Fort Resolution, Jean Marie River, Kakisa, Kátł'odeeche, Nahanni Butte, Sambaa K'e, Wrigley and Łutselk'e — while the news release names those twelve plus Tsiigehtchic, for thirteen. We are not going to decide which page is current. If you are in or near Tsiigehtchic, phone MACA and ask; if you are in any of the other twelve, both sources agree.

The MACA licence year. The GNWT release states that "Business licences are issued on April 1 and expire on March 31 of the following year" and that "Fees are charged annually and must be paid each year upon renewal." That is a shared, territory-wide renewal date for MACA-issued licences — worth putting in a calendar, because it is one shared date rather than an anniversary of your own.

Do not assume your community uses that calendar. It is a MACA licence year, not a rule that binds municipalities that issue their own. Our own community is a clean example of the difference.

A worked example: Inuvik, because it is where we are

We checked one community's licence in detail rather than pretending to have checked every community in the territory, and we picked the one we live in. Everything in this section was read on the Town of Inuvik's own page on 6 September 2026.

Who needs one: "The Town of Inuvik requires any business, whether from a home or business, to have a business licence", under the Business Licence By-law. Home-based counts. The page adds that "Those businesses operating out of a home must complete a home occupation application in addition to the business licence" — two applications, not one.

Fees, as published: a resident business licence is $100.00 and a non-resident business licence is $500.00. Renewal fees rise the later in the year you pay them — the published schedule steps a resident renewal from $100.00 to $150.00 to $200.00 across three windows, and a non-resident renewal from $500.00 to $550.00 to $600.00. There are separate, higher schedules for peddler/hawker and cannabis licences, which we have not reproduced here.

Two things this example is meant to show. First, the five-to-one gap between the resident and non-resident fee is not a rounding difference — for a southern firm doing one Inuvik job, the licence is a real line item to price in. Second, the Inuvik renewal windows do not line up with the April-to-March MACA licence year, which is exactly why "the NWT business licence renews April 1" is a sentence that will mislead somebody. Ask your own community office. There is no shortcut around that call.

What we could not verify, and what this page leaves out

A guide that lists only what it knows is telling you half a story. Here is the other half — the gaps, named, so you can see the exact shape of what we did and did not check.

We checked exactly one community licence. Inuvik. Not Yellowknife, not Hay River, not Fort Smith, not Fort Simpson, not Behchokǫ̀, and not any of the rest. Nothing in the Inuvik section can be read across to any other community.

We could not publish Yellowknife's fee. The City of Yellowknife's business licence page directs readers to "Part 3 of Fees and Charges By-law No. 4436" rather than printing an amount, and we did not obtain the by-law. So we have no Yellowknife figure, and rather than estimate one we are telling you it is missing. Phone City Hall.

The MACA community list disagrees with itself, as set out above. Twelve or thirteen. We publish both.

We did not verify penalty amounts. The WSCC states that a penalty exists for failing to register; it does not state the amount on the pages we read, and we did not find it, so there is no number here.

Not covered at all: sector-specific licensing (liquor, cannabis, tourism operators, transport, trades certification), land, lease, zoning and development permits, environmental and water approvals, requirements set by Indigenous governments, federal incorporation, extra-territorial registration for businesses incorporated elsewhere, immigration and work permits, and every question about which structure you should choose. Each of those is a real area with its own authority, and a paragraph from us would be worse than nothing.

And nothing here is advice. We opened public pages, quoted them, and linked them. If a rule above matters to a decision you are making, the department that wrote it is the one to ask, and each one is linked below.

Sources, in full — go and check us

All sources below were opened and read on 6 September 2026, apart from the Department of Finance Payroll Tax overview page, which was read on 23 September 2026. Those dates are the honest shelf life of this page: fees and deadlines change, and a source we quote today may read differently next year.

1. Corporate Registries. GNWT Department of Justice — Corporate Registries (justice.gov.nt.ca/en/corporate-registries), Business names and partnerships (justice.gov.nt.ca/en/business-names), Business registrations (justice.gov.nt.ca/en/business-registrations) and NWT corporations (justice.gov.nt.ca/en/nwt-corporations). The $50.00 and $25.00 fees, the four-year renewal, the own-legal-name exemption and the paper-only rule are quoted from the department's PDF instruction sheet, Instructions for: Application to Register Business Name (Sole Proprietorship), Partnership and Business Names Act, linked from the Forms tab of the business-names page (justice.gov.nt.ca · BN Inst.en.pdf).

2. Canada Revenue Agency. When to register for and start charging the GST/HST (canada.ca). The $30,000 threshold, the four-consecutive-quarters measure and both effective-date rules are from that page.

3. WSCC. Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission — Register a Business (wscc.nt.ca/employer-services/register-business), Employer Services FAQ (wscc.nt.ca/employer-services/frequently-asked-questions), What if my contractor is not registered? (wscc.nt.ca/faq/what-if-my-contractor-not-registered) and Request a Clearance (wscc.nt.ca/employer-services/request-clearance). The ten-day rule, the four reasons to register, the coverage warning, the POC expiry and the three-business-day processing time are quoted from the WSCC's own PDF brochure, Registering a Business with the WSCC (wscc.nt.ca · PDF). Its file properties date it to December 2015. On 19 September 2026 the WSCC was still serving it at that address, but it was not linked from the Register a Business page or from the Employer Services brochures list, which is why the address is given here.

4. NWT payroll tax. GNWT Department of Finance — Payroll Tax (fin.gov.nt.ca · payroll tax), which carries the employee-not-employer sentence; Payroll Tax for Employers (fin.gov.nt.ca · employers) and Payroll Tax for Employees (fin.gov.nt.ca · employees).

5. Business licence. GNWT Municipal and Community Affairs — Business Licensing (maca.gov.nt.ca/en/services/business-licensing) for the twelve-community list and the WSCC-proof requirement; the GNWT news release NWT business licence renewals due April 1, 2026 (gov.nt.ca newsroom) for the April 1 / March 31 licence year and the thirteen-community list. Town of Inuvik — Business Licences & Home Occupations (inuvik.ca). City of Yellowknife — Business Licences (yellowknife.ca/business-licences), which is where the fee we could not obtain lives.

Cite the department, not us. Every rule on this page belongs to the office that wrote it; our only contribution was opening five sets of public pages and arranging them in a workable order. Every link above goes straight to the original, and you should follow them before you act on anything here.

Found an error? A fee that has moved, a deadline we read wrong, a rule we stated more broadly than the source does — send it to us and the page gets fixed. We would rather be corrected in public than be quoted while wrong.

Once the registrations are done

The five above put your business on the record. When you get to the part that customers actually see, a different kind of ownership question starts. If you are about to hire someone to build a website, read the four things to check before you can say you own your website first; the domain question in particular is much cheaper to get right at the start than to fix afterwards.

And if you are weighing up whether a Northern business can rely on being online at all, the government's own figures on that are collected, sourced and graded on our how connected is the NWT page — all 33 communities, with the quality letters left attached.

Setting up a new business in the NWT?

Once the registrations are done, we build the parts a business runs on — the website, the systems, and the accounting and payments behind them. Happy to talk it through first.

Start the conversation →

A real person in Inuvik replies within one business day — no commitment to find out if we're a fit.

Prefer email? Write to hello@manifestingnorth.com.